docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/961.41(3g) The Uniform Controlled Substances Act, Chapter 961 of the Laws of Wisconsin, regulates controlled substances and establishes specific penalties for violations of the regulations. A first conviction for possession of a controlled substance can result in up to one year in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. §§ 961.41 (3g), statistics. A person convicted of manufacturing a controlled substance, supplying a controlled substance or possessing a controlled substance with intent to manufacture or supply may be detained for up to 30 years and fined up to $1,000,000. Section 961.41(1) and (1m), Statistics. Penalties vary depending on the type of drug involved, the amount of drug seized, the number of previous convictions and the presence of aggravating factors. The distribution of a controlled substance to a minor may result in a doubling of an eligible penalty limit. Section 961.46, Statistics. legis.wisconsin.gov/lc/publications/lm/lm_2003_05.pdf penalties for possession of a controlled substance are: decomposition of vehicles, boats, aircraft or other conveyances used to transport or conceal a controlled substance. Under federal law, the U.S. Sentencing Guidelines set mandatory minimum sentences for drug-related categories of offences and provide for sentence increases in certain cases.
Under these federal guidelines, courts can convict a person up to 6 years for illegal possession of a controlled substance, including distributing a small amount (less than 250 grams) of marijuana; a life sentence may result from a conviction for possession of a controlled substance resulting in death or bodily injury; And possession of more than 5 grams of cocaine can trigger an intention to hand down a sentence of 10 to 16 years in prison. The state of Wisconsin takes drug offenses very seriously. While the distribution or trafficking of drugs can result in long prison sentences or heavy fines, the mere possession of an illegal drug (known as a controlled substance) can also result in severe penalties. Those facing drug charges for possession should make sure they understand how Wisconsin laws affect them. If you have been arrested and charged with possession of a controlled substance, you may have serious consequences for your freedom, career, driver`s license and other aspects of your life. During this difficult time, you`ll need the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney from Milwaukee, WI. At Gimbel, Reilly, Guerin & Brown LLP, we can help you understand the allegations against you and work with you to determine your best defense strategy. Contact us today at 414-271-1440 to schedule a consultation.
Under Wisconsin law, it is illegal to possess or attempt to possess a controlled substance unless a person has a valid prescription or is legally authorized to possess the drug in question. Controlled substances are divided into different “tables” based on their potential for abuse and their accepted use for medical treatment. Forfeiture of personal and immovable property used to possess or facilitate the possession of a controlled substance if the offence is punishable by imprisonment for more than 1 year. (See the special provisions on crack condemnation above.) Denial of federal benefits, such as student loans, grants, contracts, and professional and business licenses, up to 1 year for the first offense, up to 5 years for the second offense, and subsequent offenses. The revocation of certain federal licenses and benefits, e.B pilot licenses, social housing rents, etc., is the responsibility of the authorities of the individual federal authorities. Special Penalties for Possession of Crack: Mandatory of at least 5 years in prison, not more than 20 years, and a fine of up to $250,000, or both, if: Schedule I drugs, which Wisconsin law defines as a high risk of abuse and unaccepted medical use, include marijuana, heroin and LSD. List II drugs such as cocaine, methamphetamine or morphine also pose a high risk of abuse; However, you may have accepted medical uses. Penalties for possession vary depending on the type of drug and whether it is a first offence. A second or subsequent offence is defined as a conviction after a person has already been convicted of a drug crime or misdemeanour at any time in the past. Not authorized to purchase, receive or transport a firearm. Cocaine and cocaine base (also known as “crack”) – A maximum penalty of $5,000 and up to one year in prison for an initial offence.
A second or subsequent offence is a Class I crime. Possession of other drugs is an offence that can be punished with a maximum penalty of $500 and a maximum of 30 days in prison. Marijuana – A maximum sentence of $1,000 and up to six months in prison for a first offence. A second or subsequent offence is a Class I crime and is punishable by up to $10,000 and imprisonment for up to three years and six months. . Note: These are only federal penalties and sanctions. Additional state sanctions and sanctions may be imposed. 1. Conviction: Up to 1 year imprisonment and a fine of at least $1,000, but not more than $100,000 or both. After 2 or more previous drug convictions: At least 90 days in prison, not more than 3 years, and a fine of at least $5,000, but not more than $250,000 or both.
Warning: These codes may not be the latest version. Wisconsin may have more up-to-date or accurate information. We make no warranties or representations as to the accuracy, completeness or suitability of the information contained on this website or the information linked to the government website. Please check the official sources. Wisconsin has massive legal penalties that restrict alcohol consumption in various situations. It is illegal to obtain, sell, distribute or give alcohol to people who have not yet reached the legal drinking age of 21. § 125.07(1)(a)(1), Statistics. Every adult is legally obliged to prevent the illegal consumption of alcohol in premises owned by the adult or under the control of the adult. Subsection 125.07(1)(a)(3), Statistics. A first violation of any of the above paragraphs may be punishable by a fine of up to $500.
It is illegal for a minor to obtain or attempt to obtain an alcoholic beverage, to make a false declaration of his or her age for the purpose of obtaining alcohol, to enter premises authorized to sell alcohol or to consume or possess alcohol in authorized premises. Second. 125.07(4)(a), statistics. A first-time minor offender of paragraph 125.07(4)(bs), Stats., may be fined up to $500, ordered to participate in a supervised work program and revoke his or her driver`s licence. Possession of List I and List II drugs is a Class I crime. REGULATION OF THE MANUFACTURE, DISTRIBUTION AND SUPPLY OF CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES. .